Mega Millions: Mega Interesting History! (the Big Game)

Share Button

Mega Millions, once known as the The Big Game Mega Millions, which was once known as The Big Game. Mega Millions is an domestic lottery game in the United States. The Big Game Mega Millions changed into Mega Millions in 2002, although The Big Game started on August 31st, 1996.

Alpharetta, GA, USA - Feruary 01, 2014

While The Big Game started out only incorporating 6 states, it now encompasses 44 states. The ones that aren’t authorized to participate are Alaska, Alabama, Hawaii, Mississippi, Nevada, and Utah.

California joined in 2005 as the 12th participating state, and it was clear that Mega Millions was the most popular lottery game in the United States.

Mega Millions is known for their large jackpots. In 2012, they broke a record by having one of the largest jackpot of all time: $656 million!

The winnings ended up being split three ways between winners from Kansas, Maryland, and Illinois. Although the drawing was on March 30th, it took all the way until April 18th for all the winners to come forward.

While the highest jackpots are surely impressive, the minimum jackpot for Mega Millions is $15 million, still plenty for someone to live on.

In 1999, Mega Millions started offering a cash payout option, which seems to be the most popular with the larger jackpots. Would you rather have more now or less later, when it came to millions upon millions of dollars? In some states, you have to choose beforehand.

In others, you can decide after you win, or even change your mind! Unfortunately, Texas is one of those states that binds you to your choice.

Choose wisely if you must! While initially drawing only on Fridays, Mega Millions now draws twice a week, on Tuesdays and Fridays, giving people more opportunities to play! Read here our Mega Millions review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.